Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.


Department on Disability Services

DC Agency Top Menu

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

Home and Community Based Services Waiver Program

The Home and Community Based (HCBS) Services waiver   program is jointly funded with federal and local dollars.  The federal government reimburses the District of Columbia 70 cents for every one dollar spent for qualifying services and supports for people enrolled in the HCBS waiver program. All supports and services provided through the DDA service delivery system are funded through the waiver program.

The District of Columbia must comply with the requirements set forth by the Federal government to participate in the HCBS waiver program in the following areas Level of Care, Service Planning, Qualified Providers, Health & Welfare, Financial Authority and Administrative Authority.  DDS/DDA is the operating agency for the HCBS waiver program, and the Department of Health Care Finance (DHCF) is the administrative agency.

For information about the DDS/DDA HCBS waiver program, contact the Medicaid Waiver Unit at 202-730-1556

What are the services and who provides them?
The HCBS wavier program provides a variety of services and supports that designed to meet each person's needs. The array of services offered includes and respite care. Services are provided by agencies that have been approved to provide HCBS waiver program services by DDS/DDA and DHCF.

Who is Eligible for HCBS wavier program?
A person must first be determined eligible for DDA  then they must meet the following criteria to eligible for the HCBS Waiver program:

  • Be at least 18 years of age or older,
  • Meet the required level of care,
  • Be Medicaid eligible, and
  • Have chosen HCBS waiver services over institutional care.
    (Participation in the HCBS waiver is entirely voluntary)


Additional Documents and Forms